If you’ve ever struggled to keep up with demon possessions, dolls, nuns, and the shifting settings between Europe and the USA, we’ve got you covered with a clear timeline of The Conjuring Universe.

Since its debut in 2013 with “The Conjuring”, “The Conjuring Universe” has emerged as the highest-grossing horror franchise in history, with global earnings amounting to $2.3 billion.

Directed by James Wan (renowned for hits like Saw & Insidious), this paranormal thriller, based on the real-life investigations of Ed and Lorraine Warren, has since continued to grow and evolve – expanding to include a total of 8 movies, prequels, and spin-offs.

Now, while watching The Conjuring Universe movies in their release order can be fun, here’s how you can experience them in chronological sequence, which connects the dots seamlessly:

1. The Nun (2018)

In “The Nun,” we are transported to a gloomy Romanian convent perched atop a desolate hill. The year is 1952, and the film introduces us to the unholy origins of Valak, a demonic entity that often takes on the terrifying form of a nun. It’s a slow-burning descent into darkness as we uncover the sinister secrets of this malevolent spirit, set against the eerie backdrop of the decaying abbey.

2. Annabelle: Creation (2017)

Fast forward to 1955, and “Annabelle: Creation” reveals the tragic genesis of the infamous Annabelle doll. Set in a creaky old farmhouse, the film explores the haunting creation of this malevolent plaything and the twisted, supernatural events that follow. It’s a tale of innocence corrupted by malevolence, guaranteed to send chills down your spine.

3. The Nun II (2023)

Following the horrifying events of the first “Nun” film, the most recent installment of the franchise promises to dive even deeper into the sinister history of Valak, taking place in 1956. Prepare to be captivated and terrorized by the enigmatic entity’s origin story as the horrors continue to unfold.

4. Annabelle (2014)

In this movie, set in 1967, the terror of the Annabelle doll weaves its wicked web, connecting the prequel to “Annabelle: Creation” with the main Conjuring series. The film follows the sinister path the Annabelle doll carves through the lives of an unsuspecting family and delves into the malevolent force unleashed by the cursed toy.

5. The Conjuring (2013)

It’s 1971, and the world of the paranormal is brought to life in “The Conjuring.” Ed and Lorraine Warren, expert paranormal investigators, take center stage as they are summoned to a Rhode Island farmhouse plagued by malevolent spirits. This film marks the beginning of our journey with the Warrens, offering a thrilling glimpse into their real-life investigations.

6. Annabelle Comes Home (2019)

A year later, in 1972, this installment of “Annabelle” invites us into the heart of the Warrens’ own horrors. As the Annabelle doll runs amok within their occult artifact room, the film delves into the perilous world of cursed objects and restless spirits. The Warrens’ world is turned upside down, and we’re along for the bumpy, terrifying ride.

7. The Conjuring 2 (2016)

Fast forward to 1977, and we find ourselves in London. This time, the Warrens cross the pond to assist a single mother and her children in the grips of a malevolent spirit. The film introduces another real-life case from the Warrens’ paranormal investigations, raising the stakes and the scares to a whole new level.

8. The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It (2021)

Our chronological journey culminates in 1981 with The Conjuring 3. Ed and Lorraine Warren are back, and this time they face a horrifying case involving a murder suspect who claims demonic possession as their defense. The film peels back the layers of the Warrens’ lives and their harrowing encounters with the supernatural.

The Conjuring Universe: The Highest-Grossing Horror Movie Franchise

Its financial success is as remarkable as its ability to terrify. With a cumulative global Box Office gross that exceeds $2.3 billion and counting, it is evident that this franchise has not only maintained its appeal but has also continued to draw dedicated fans to theaters.

Here is a list of The Conjuring Universe films, ranked based on their box office performance:

    1. The Nun — $365.5M
    2. The Conjuring 2 — $321.8M
    3. The Conjuring — $320.4M
    4. Annabelle: Creation — $306.5M
    5. Annabelle — $256.8M
    6. The Nun II — $231.2M
    7. Annabelle Comes Home — $231.2M
    8. The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It — $206.4M

So What’s The Next Chapter?

As we’ve journeyed through the intricate timeline of The Conjuring Universe, it is evident that this franchise possesses a profound ability to evoke fear and fascination. But, as any expert Conjuring fan knows, the terror never truly ends.

It has been officially confirmed that a fourth installment following the Warrens is in the works. It’s official – a fourth installment following the Warrens is in the works. While its plot remains shrouded in mystery, the title “The Conjuring: Last Rites” sparks curiosity about whether this might indeed mark the final chapter of an unforgettable saga.